Baliwag News Service

Four Incumbent Barangay Captains finish Term.


Baliwag, Bulacan – The Barangay Captains of Concepcion, Pinagbarilan, Paitan and Virgen delas Flores are ineligible to seek another term as they finish a three full term limit set by law.

Brgy Captain Jojo Castillo of Concepcion will finish his three terms and not fieldimg any candidate from his family. He is reportedly supporting Brgy. Kagawad Rodolfo Palo who is running for Brgy Captain against former Brgy Captain Manny Carillo and Roderick Desiderio.

In Pinagbarilan, the long saga of the Carillo’s is seemingly ending after Brgy Captain Marcos Carillo decided to quit his and his family’s stronghold spanning for more than four decades. Kap. Anko is reportedly supporting Brgy Kagawad Joselito Angeles who is up against former police Col. Danilo Bugay.

In Paitan, the barangay captain of the municipality’s smallest barangay in Baliwag is also finishing his term and did not field any from his kins. Brgy. Captain Ariston Mercado is also the oldest among the barangay captains.

Lastly, Virgen delas Flores Brgy. Captain Virgilio is also finishing his three terms and did not field up any candidate from among his family.

Mayor Ferdinand Viceo Estrella, the former barangay chair of Poblacion could have been the 5th Barangay Captain graduating this year but he ran and won overwhelmingly against then incumbent Mayor Carolina Dellosa.

Brgy Captain Nani Fabian of Pagala is lone eligible incumbent not seeking Reelection

Of the twenty-seven incumbent, four are about to finish their term and only one will not be running to seek reelection. Brgy. Captain Nani Fabian, Pagala’s first termer Chieftain is not seeking any post. His reasons were undisclosed but some people surmised that it was because of the close fight between veteran politician former Pagala Brgy Captain Bernardino Fabian and neophyte Mark Velasquez.

First Councilors who were Promoted Brgy. Chairs, Seeking Reelection

Although not a surprise, the two first councilors who assumed into office, by operation of law on succession, are both running as Brgy. Chairs pitted against old timers. Hinukay Brgy Captain Reynaldo dela Cruz was first councilor when then Brgy Captain Romeo Taruc was killed just weeks after he was proclaimed winner. Meanwhile, Poblacion’s BOSS J Miranda was also Brgy. Poblacion’s First Councilor when Mayor Ferdie Estrella assumed into office. By mere succession, the second highest ranking elected official shall be promoted and shall assume the responsibilities setforth.