Finance Com Defended Baliwag’s New Revenue Code


City of Malolos – In response to the invitation of Sangguniang Panlalawigan’s Committee on Ways and Means Chairperson, Bulacan 3rd District Board Member Atty. Emelita Viceo to hear the request of the Municipality of Baliwag to approve its 2018 Revenue Code. The Local Finance Committee, upon orders of Mayor Ferdie V. Estrella, attended the hearing.

Municipal Administrator Enrique Tagle, Municipal Treasurer Martiniano Javier, Municipal Planning Development Coordinator Engr. Nemencio de Leon, Municipal Budget Officer Josefina Tanggol and Municipal Accountant Rhea Payuran attended the committee hearing and defended proposed 2018 Revenue Code.

In his opening statement, MA Tagle said: “the Municipality of Baliwag would like to thank the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, the Committee on Ways and Means especially the Chair, Atty. Emily Viceo for the opportunity to hear the proposed Revenue Code of Baliwag. This revenue code is important for Baliwag. After 20 years, Mayor Ferdie and the Sangguniang Bayan recognized that need to reform our revenue ordinance in order to address the more pressing needs of our municipality, whose rank from 960th was tremendously improved to 42nd, begins to be looked again by multinational investors. In 2017, Baliwag received 14 recognitions all in all. In order to sustain our efforts, the local government must create sound financial policies for better allocation of resources according to the strategic priorities of the government.”

Mayor Ferdie wants Baliwag to be in the top 10 Most Competitive Municipalities in the National Competitiveness Council’s competitiveness index at it prepares imminently to become the fourth city of Bulacan.

3rd District Board Member Atty Emily Viceo congratulated Baliwag for the bold reforms initiated by Mayor Ferdie in Baliwag. “To receive the Seal of Good Local Governance on his first year, the only new comer among the awardees is such a feat,” Atty. Viceo said.

The New Revenue Code of Baliwag takes effect once approved by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan.